romea - logo
May 25, 2022

 

SEARCH
 

Posting a declaration to Facebook DOES NOT mean they cannot use your photographs and videos

22.1.2022 8:58
--ilustrační foto--
--ilustrační foto--

A new version of a hoax that has been appearing in different variations for many years is once again spreading through social media, including among users in the Czech Republic - Facebook social media users are being allegedly "notified" that an allegedly "new rule" is beginning regarding the social network's use of the photographs users upload there. Specifically, the text being circulated alleges the following: "Tomorrow begins a new Facebook/Meta rule whereby they can use your photos. Don't forget the deadline is today! This could be used in lawsuits against you. Everything you have ever posted was published today - even messages that have been deleted. It costs nothing to just copy this message and post it, and it's better to do this now than to regret not doing it later. 'UTC law 1-207, 1-308 [...] I hereby state my rights and restrictions. I DO NOT ALLOW Facebook/Meta, or any other person associated with Facebook/Meta, to use my photographs, information, messages or posts, either from the past or in the future. I hereby inform Facebook/Meta that it is strictly prohibited to detect, copy, distribute or take action against me based on this account and/or its contents. This account contains private, confidential information. Violation of my private life can be punished by law…' " 

In reality THERE IS NO WAY TO PROHIBIT Meta (formerly Facebook) from handling the photos or videos you post through their service - the Fakticke.info server reports that by registering with Facebook, you agree (by familiarizing yourself with the rules) that all material you publish there (including photos and videos) may be handled by Facebook until you delete them. You are best able to protect your privacy on social media by behaving prudently. 

The basic rule of prudence is not to disclose confidential, private information that nobody else should see or that could cause harm in the future. ONCE YOU POST CONTENT USING THE INTERNET, THERE IS NEVER A GUARANTEE THAT OTHERS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DOWNLOAD IT, EVEN IF YOU DELETE IT AFTER POSTING.

ryz, translated by Gwendolyn Albert
Views: 349x

Don't miss:

Related articles:

Tags:  

Dezinformace, Facebook, Hoax, manipulation



HEADLINE NEWS

More articles from category







..
romea - logo